Nonsmoking Facility

What is SIEDA?




Why are CAAs Unique?

How Can You Help?

Board of Directors

Complaints/Fraud Reporting

Job Openings

Employment Application Form

Poverty Guidelines

Annual Report

Useful Links   



Southern Iowa Economic Development Association

SIEDA is one of the 18 Community Action Agencies covering the entire 99 counties of Iowa.  SIEDA was founded July 7, 1965 as a not-for-profit corporation.   Because the majority of SIEDA's funding comes from government sources, it is a common misconception that it is a public agency, not the private agency that it has always been.

SIEDA provides services in Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren & Wapello counties in southern Iowa

Community Action Agencies are charged with the responsibility of identifying the unique needs of the poverty population within their communities and designing programs to meet those needs.  Although Community Action Agencies across the nation administer several similar programs, each agency has the ability to tailor its services to the needs of its local communities. 

 SIEDA's programs are funded by a combination of federal and state grants, local funds, donations, client fees and private resources.  The agency is governed by a 24 member Board of Directors.  The Board is composed of elected officials, representatives elected by the low-income and members of the private sector.