On May 24, 2024, Governor Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation in response to severe weather that occurred on May 21 for Calhoun, Cerro Gordo, Johnson, Keokuk, Marion, Scott, Shelby, Union, Washington, and Wright counties.  The governor’s proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) and the Disaster Case Advocacy Program in these counties. You can view the proclamation here.

Sieda Community Action will take applications for the IIAGP and Disaster Case Advocacy for Keokuk County. For information on Community Action Programs serving other counties visit the Iowa Community Action Association Webpage at iowacommunityaction.org

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management website at  homelandsecurity.iowa.gov/assistance. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

The Disaster Case Advocacy Program addresses serious disaster-related needs. Disaster case advocates work with clients to coordinate services and resources to address disaster-related unmet needs, build a recovery plan, and access available resources. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program; it closes 180 days from the date of the governor’s proclamation.  To sign up for the Disaster Case Advocacy Program or apply for IIAGP, contact Sieda Community Action at 641.682.8741 (800-622-8340) or:

Sieda Neighborhood Resource Center Keokuk County
114 West Washington
Sigourney, Iowa 52591