Governor Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation in response to severe weather that occurred on June 29 for Davis, Jefferson, Lee, and Wapello counties. The governor’s proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Advocacy Program in these counties. You can view the proclamation here.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management website at Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

The Disaster Case Advocacy Program addresses serious disaster-related needs. Disaster case advocates work with clients to coordinate services and resources to address disaster-related unmet needs, build a recovery plan, and access available resources. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program; it closes 180 days from the date of the governor’s proclamation.  To sign up for the Disaster Case Advocacy Program, contact your local Community Action Agency:

To begin the application process, contact Sieda Community Action at 641.682.8741 (800-622-8340) or:

Sieda Neighborhood Resource Center (proclamation Date July 5, 2023)
203 S. Madison Street
Bloomfield, Iowa 52537

Sieda Jefferson County Neighborhood Resource Center (proclamation Date June 30, 2023)
2200 West Jefferson Ave.
Fairfield, Iowa 52556

Sieda Wapello County Resource Center (proclamation Date June 30, 2023)
725 W. Second Street
Ottumwa, Iowa 52501